Free (and legal) calligraphy books download (1)


Anyone learning calligraphy, or who is already an exponent of the craft, may be interested to know that eight free calligraphy books can be legally downloaded as a PDF or viewed online at www.operina.com. This is a fantastic free resource that shouldn’t be missed.

If you are interested in Italic hand-writing, check out “Cursive Handwriting News” by Gunnlaugur SE Briem. If you’re more interested in the artistic side of calligraphy, then Leonid Pronenko’s “Russian Calligraphy” contains inspiring colour images.

The remaining six books relate to various aspects of calligraphy, and will be a worthwhile addition to your ‘virtual’ library.

4 Responses to Free (and legal) calligraphy books download (1)

  1. billgrant43 says:

    Hi there.
    It is good to see another UK scribe out there. I like your work and would have liked to join one of your workshops but I am afraid you are a bit far away for me. Never mind eh? I have just taken advantage of your link to free books and will also send a link to my facebook pages. Many thanks.
    Cheers. Bill.

    • Hi Bill. Not often you get something free AND legal on the net, so I was delighted to discover the link. Not all the books are relevant to my likes and needs, but there’s a good selection to suit all tastes. I hope you find at least some of them useful. Thanks for getting in touch. Duncan

  2. Asif Bagawan says:

    i am interested in calligraphy.
    how can i get free books?

    • Hi Asif
      If you click on “Calligraphy Books” on the grey menu bar at the top of my blog, you will be taken to a page that shows all of my posts related to books. Scroll down to the bottom of that page and you will find some posts that relate specifically to FREE calligraphy book downloads. All of the books that I link to are legal downloads. I hope this is helpful.

Something to add?

