Calligraphy books – access to free excerpts

Within minutes of completing my previous post, I stumbled upon a link to Bill Hildebrandt’s book Calligraphic Flourishing: A New Approach to an Ancient Art.

For years I have been trying to find an affordable copy of this book. Currently, a used copy costs £108.94 on Amazon.co.uk, and $110.91 on Amazon.com. Not cheap for a used book, and way out of my price range.

So, imagine my delight when I found the first 32 pages of the book freely available to view here on Google Books. Although there are 85 pages that I can’t access, at the current going rate, having free online access to over a third of the book will suit me just fine (viewed as a proportion of the inflated Amazon price, that’s around £35 worth of freebie!).

If there’s anyone out there who has an unwanted copy of Calligraphic Flourishing and would like to donate it to a good home, yours truly would be absolutely delighted to take it off their hands.

Pretty please!

You can access excerpts from many other calligraphy books on Google Books here, including:

An elegant hand: the golden age of American penmanship and calligraphy by WE Henning, P Melzer

Handwriting: the way to teach it by Rosemary Sassoon

Calligraphy A to Z by Stuart David

The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Calligraphy by Jane Eldershaw

Calligraphy by Don Marsh

Artist and Alphabet: Twentieth Century Calligraphy and Letter Art in America by J Kelly and A Koeth

St John’s Bible: Psalms by Donald Jackson

Italic Letters: Calligraphy and Handwriting by I Dubay, B Getty

Being allowed access to the first twenty or thirty pages of these books is helpful in deciding what calligraphy book to buy next.

Just as long as it’s not in the same price bracket as a used copy of Calligraphic Flourishing!

4 Responses to Calligraphy books – access to free excerpts

  1. J. Nieto says:

    There is NO book download here.
    Why not say “books preview” instead ?

    • Hi there
      Thank you for your comment, but in my post I made it quite clear that this particular post didn’t contain a download when I wrote… “it’s not strictly a “download”, and there are 85 pages that I can’t access, but at the current going rate, having free online access to over a third of the book will suit me just fine.” I think this comment clarifies that there is no download in that particular post. If you want a download, please try some of my other posts where I’m sure you will be more successful. Thanks again for your comment.

  2. julio says:

    Did you get finally a copy of this book?

    • Hi Julio
      I apologise for my delay in replying.
      No, I’ve given up trying to obtain a copy of Hildebrand’s book. I don’t think I’m alone in finding it impossible to get a copy, so if one goes on sale anytime soon there may be bruised ribs and frayed tempers during the scramble to procure it!
      I think I need to accept that it will continue to be elusive. But hope springs eternal…
      Best wishes,
      Duncan

Something to add?

