Jessica Hische – “Type Nerd”

 

I’m always on the lookout for new, quality, calligraphy books, and this morning I discovered a new book about lettering called Hand to Type which fits that bill perfectly. A small section of the book can be browsed at Gestalten.com, and the examples of calligraphy and lettering look absolutely stunning.

On the same website I discovered the above short video about Jessica Hische, a young letterer and illustrator, whose personal thoughts on certain letters of the alphabet make for interesting viewing. If you have five minutes to spare, I can definitely recommend that you watch the video.

Gestalten.com contains other lettering-related videos, and its book section on typography contains many books that I would love to own.

I’m now saving my pennies so that I can add a copy of Hand to Type to my burgeoning collection of calligraphy books. The RRP on Gestalten.com is £35.00, but Amazon presently offer it here for £24.57 with free UK delivery.

Browse Hand to Type at Gestalten.com. I’m sure you’ll be as smitten as I am.

Something to add?

